Tag: Stand-Alone

The Orphan Sisters

Title: The Orphan Sisters Author: Shirley Dickson Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Historical Fiction (secular) Publishing Date: Jan 22, 2019 Format: E-Book, ARC About the Book: A heartbreaking, unputdownable and utterly unforgettable story of two young sisters cruelly abandoned by their mother at an orphanage. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will lose their […]

Posted January 4, 2019 by thebeccafiles in / 1 Comment

#SeasonToRead Reading Challenge- Dec 13, 2018

Pshh what an impossible question to ask! How can I pick ONE best standalone? That’s almost as bad as asking what my favorite BOOK at all is! It simply can’t be done! I’ll at least try to share a few of my favorites that I’ve either read or at least featured this year. I still couldn’t […]

Posted December 13, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 3 Comments

The Reckoning at Gossamer Pond

Title: The Reckoning at Gossamer Pond Author:  Jaime Jo Wright Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Time-Slip (Historical & Contemporary) Publishing Date: July 3, 2018 About the Book: For over a century, the town of Gossamer Grove has thrived on its charm and midwestern values, but Annalise Forsythe knows painful secrets, including her own, hover just beneath the pleasant faade. […]

Posted August 19, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 9 Comments

Life After

Title: Life After Author: Katie Ganshert Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Christian Fiction Publishing Date: April 18, 2017 About the Book: It could have been me. Snow whirls around an elevated train platform in Chicago. A distracted woman boards the train, takes her seat, and moments later a fiery explosion rips through the frigid air, tearing the […]

Posted June 13, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 2 Comments

The Road Home

Title: The Road Home Author: Beverly Lewis Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Amish Fiction Publishing Date: April 3, 2018 About the Book: Sent from Michigan to Pennsylvania following the tragic death of her Amish parents, Lena Rose Schwartz grieves her loss and the separation from her nine siblings. Beside the fact that Lena has never been so far […]

Posted May 12, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 0 Comments

Before We Were Yours

Title: Before We Were Yours Author: Lisa Wingate Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Historical Fiction Publishing Date: June 6, 2017 About the Book: Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger […]

Posted May 3, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 1 Comment

Shadows of Hope

Title: Shadows of Hope Author: Georgiana Daniels Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Christian Fiction Publishing Date: April 1, 2018 About the Book: A story of hope in the aftermath of inconceivable betrayal and broken dreams What if. . . . . .you struggled with infertility but unknowingly befriended your husband’s pregnant mistress? What if. . . . . […]

Posted April 5, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 0 Comments

A Refuge Assured

Title: A Refuge Assured Author: Jocelyn Green Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Christian Historical Fiction   About the Book: Lacemaker Vivienne Rivard never imagined her craft could threaten her life. Yet in revolutionary France, it is a death sentence when the nobility, and those associated with them, are forced to the guillotine. Vivienne flees to Philadelphia but finds the […]

Posted March 21, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 0 Comments

Yella’s Prayers

Title: Yella’s Prayers Author: Nadine C Keels Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Christian Fiction   About the Book: She awoke with a gasp, sitting up. “God? Was that You?”  A pivotal year awaits Bless, a young woman who hides her passion: her music. She’s not exactly friends with T’meal, a talented athlete who won’t explain why he’s passed up […]

Posted March 16, 2018 by thebeccafiles in / 0 Comments

The Hidden Side

Title: The Hidden Side Author: Heidi Chiavaroli Series: Stand-Alone Genre: Christian Historical Fiction Publishing Date: May 8, 2018   About the Book: New York, 2016 Natalie Abbott offers answers for hurting listeners on her popular radio program. But she struggles to connect with her teenagers, with her daughter in an unhealthy relationship and her son uncommunicative and isolated. […]

Posted March 16, 2018 by thebeccafiles in Book Review / 6 Comments