Ours for a Season – Audiobook Review

Posted December 15, 2020 by thebeccafiles in Book Review / 1 Comment

ours-for-a-seasonTitle: Ours for a Season

Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer

Narrator: Stephanie Cozart

Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Mennonite

Audio Release Date: Sept 14, 2018

Audio Publisher: Recorded Books

Length: 11hrs 59min

About the Book:

An Old Order Mennonite couple’s vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.

Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke’s vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most?

Narrator Review:

The narrator did a wonderful job with this one. I have listened to others by her in the past and she does a great job of having just the right amount of energy to make the story come to life including the various characters by adding their personalities into the tone and  pace of her voice.

Rating: 5-Stars-300x57

Story Review:

I had been waiting to read this one for quite some time so I was excited to finally get the chance to dive in. I’m always intrigued by stories that connect the Amish/Mennonite communities with ‘Englishers’ as they’re called. Infertility can cause a mighty strain on a marriage, particularly one in a community where growing a family is so highly encouraged and prevalent. It’s no wonder that Marty and Anthony have emotional wounds from it, and their difference in how they cope with those wounds is what creates the chasm between them that seems to be ever widening. When Brooke provides a wonderful opportunity for Anthony and his men to help build her resort community, it provides just the window for them to have time away together where Marty hopes they can grow closer together again and her heart can find time to heal. My only complaint in this story is that some of the financing for the project was over the top to the point that it didn’t seem plausible to me, but other than that I loved the story and each of the characters brought something vital to it.

*I borrowed the audio version of this book from my local library. Thoughts and opinions expressed are mine alone.

Rating: 4-Stars-300x57

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


One response to “Ours for a Season – Audiobook Review

Leave a Reply