First Line Friday #31

FLF

The book I’m featuring this week is:

ours-for-a-season

Pine Hill, Indiana
Marty Krieger Hirschler

Marty followed her husband to the front door, keeping enough distance between them to prevent bumping her knee against the bulky suitcase that hung from his hand.

I recently won a copy of this from a blog giveaway and I’m very anxious to read it soon! My TBR pile is a bit overwhelming right now, but I’m hoping it won’t be long before I can  get to this one. I’ve only read a few of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s books but I haven’t been disappointed yet!

About the Book:

An Old Order Mennonite couple’s vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.

Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke’s vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most?

About the Author:Kim Vogel Sawyer

Award-winning, bestselling author Kim Vogel Sawyer told her kindergarten teacher that someday people would check out her book in the library. The little-girl dream came true in 2006 with the release of Waiting for Summer’s Return. Kim’s titles now exceed 1.5 million copies and are available in six different language. A former elementary school teacher, she now enjoys a full-time writing and speaking ministry. Kim’s passion lies in writing stories that point the reader to a deeper, more intimate relationship with God. When Kim isn’t writing, you’ll find her traveling with her retired military hubby, spoiling her granddarlings, petting the cats, quilting, or–as time allows–participating in community theater. You can learn more about Kim’s writing and speaking ministries at her website, KimVogelSawyer.com.

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line. To see what First Lines others are sharing this week head over to Hoarding Books.

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “First Line Friday #31

  1. Looks like a great book. My first line comes from The Christmas Heirloom (4 different authors)
    Lancashire, England (Christmas~1827)

    From a purely rational standpoint, Sarah Gooding should have been ecstatic with her present position.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is always fun to see what books are being shared on Friday! Over on my blog, I’m sharing the first line from Mary Connealy’s newest book “The Reluctant Warrior”. Here I’ll share the first line from chapter 20 of the same book.
    “What harebrained decision had caused John to come west working for the Chiltons?”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Friday!

    My first lines come from the book It Started With Christmas by Jenny Hale…..

    “I want to spend Christmas at the cabin.” Nana’s voice came from the dark stairway, startling Holly McAdams and making her jump as she walked in the front door, the warmth of the little house a stark contrast to the icy cold outside.

    Have an awesome weekend and happy reading!😊🎃💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kim Vogel Sawyer writes great books. I hope you enjoy this one. And I can definitely relate to that overwhelming TBR pile!

    I’ve just finished reading Things Left Unsaid by Courtney Walsh (one of those books I opened to copy the first line so I could share it, but got hooked. So now I’m sharing the first line after I’ve read the last. And I’m sharing a day late. #SorryNotSorry). Here’s the first line:

    “This is it, Lyndie. Don’t blow it.”

    On my blog, I’m sharing from an old favourite Australian contemporary Christian romance that’s recently been re-released: Return to Baragula by Mary Hawkins. I hope you get a chance to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s